AFF Championship AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022

The ASEAN Football Federation Championship (less formally the AFF Championship or AFF Cup), currently known as the AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup for sponsorship reason, is the primary association football tournament organized by the ASEAN Football Federation (AFF).

A biennial international association football competition, it is contested by the men's national teams of the AFF to determe the sub-continental champion of Southeast Asia. The competition has been held every two years since 1996 scheduled to be in the even-numbered year, except for 2007, and 2020 (which was postponed to 2021 due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic).

The AFF Championship title have been won by four national teams; Thailand have won six titles, Singapore has four titles, Vietnam has two titles and Malaysia with one title. To date, Thailand and Singapore are the only teams in history to have won consecutive titles; Thailand in 2000 and 2002 and also in 2014 and 2016, and Singapore in 2004 and 2007. It is one of the most watched football tournaments in the region.

Since 2018, the championship winners would compete in the following AFF–EAFF Champions Trophy, against the winner of the EAFF E-1 Football Championship, the champions of East Asia, to determine the champions of East and Southeast Asia.

Although have joined the AFF since 2013, Australia has never competed in the AFF Championship due to its overwhelming strength compared to the remaining teams.

Group A

Group B


เอเอฟเอฟ มิตซูบิชิ อิเล็คทริค คัพ 2022 รอบรองชนะเลิศ รอบที่ 1

เอเอฟเอฟ มิตซูบิชิ อิเล็คทริค คัพ 2022 รอบรองชนะเลิศ รอบที่ 2

ASEAN Football Championship 2022 or AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022 according to the name of the sponsor It is the 14th ASEAN Football Championship organized by the ASEAN Football Federation. Which is the football federation of Southeast Asia. And for the first time under the name AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup

The 2022 ASEAN Football Championship final will be held from 20 December 2022 to 16 January 2023.



The 2022 AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup will follow the 2018 format, a change from the 2020 format with a neutral field due to The spread of COVID-19 in Southeast Asia.

In its current format, the nine highest ranked teams automatically qualify with the 10th and 11th ranked teams playing in a two-leg qualifying round. The 10 teams are divided into two groups of five teams and play a round-robin format with each team playing a two-legged home and away fixture.

The existing draw will be used to determine the teams playing while the format of the elimination round will remain unchanged.

Qualifying round

Nine teams automatically qualified for the ASEAN Football Championship final. They are split into two groups based on their performance in the last two competitions. Brunei and Timor-Leste, the two lowest performing teams, will play a two-leg qualifying round for the 10th team in the month. November 2022, with Brunei hosting the first leg and Timor-Leste hosting the second leg. Australia, a member since 2013, did not participate in the tournament due to participation in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.


The draw for the 2022 ASEAN Football Championship will be held on 30 August 2022 in Bangkok, Thailand at 2:00 PM (GMT+07:00). Follow the progress of each team based on the previous two.

At the time of drawing The status of the national team having retained the qualifiers is unknown and automatically relegated to Pot 5. Brunei qualified for the final. by defeating Timor-Leste

Group stage

Ranking in each group will be determined as follows.

More points earned in all group matches.
Goal difference in all group stage matches
More goals in group stage matches
If two or more teams are tied according to the above three criteria. Set the location as follows.

Results of direct matches between the teams involved.
Penalty shoot-outs are decided only for the teams that are tied. and met in the final round of the group
Raffle by the organizing committee.

Group A of the 2022 ASEAN Football Championship is one of the two groups of nations participating in the 2022 ASEAN Football Championship. ASEAN Football Championship 2022. This group consists of Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, Cambodia and Brunei. Each match will be held from 20 December 2022 to 2 January 2023.
Group B of the 2022 ASEAN Football Championship is one of the two groups of nations participating in the tournament. ASEAN Football Championship 2022. This group consists of Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Myanmar and Laos. Each match will be held from 21 December 2022 to 3 January 2023.
knockout round

The knockout round of the AFF Championship 2022 will be the second and final round of the AFF Championship 2022 after the group stage. It will be played between January 6 and 16, 2023. The top two teams from each group. Four teams in total will advance to the knockout stages to compete in a two-legged elimination tournament starting with the semi-finals followed by the finals. Each tie will be played on a two-legged home and away basis. The away goals, extra time and penalty shoot-out rules apply to determine the winner if necessary.

Knockout round format

All match ties will be played through a two-legged tie, the team scoring more goals in both match combinations wins the tie. If the score is included in the level at the end of normal time of the second leg. The away goals rule applies in this version. Since the tournament will be organized on a home and away format. To determine the winner of the tie, extra time will be played and if both teams score the same goal in extra time then the tie will be decided by a penalty shootout.


The last two teams from each group advance to the knockout stages, comprising two semi-finals and a final.



AFF Championship Football Tournament 2022 Finals It will be the final of the AFF Championship 2022, the 14th top-level football tournament of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), hosted by the ASEAN Football Federation (AFF). First leg on 13 January and second leg on 16 January 2023.

Youtube: @siamsporttalk